Bridging Gap from Loss to Living · Humor · Now What? Facing Breast Cancer · So, you want to be a mom

What Is That Smell?!?!?

 

 

The week before Easter my two youngest grandchildren- Chirison and James visited us from Minnesota.  It was a wonderful Easter surprise. On a recent phone call Chirison wondered why I had not written a blog lately.  Well the truth be known I haven’t written much of anything of late.  My cancer seems to be enjoying the ‘take-over’ of my body and my desire to write has faltered.  So upon the request of my youngest granddaughter I wish to share my blog about our family.

One of the best moments during their stay was sharing family secrets and stories with my grandchildren.  I am after all an elder of the family – the matriarch of this family and I have lots and lots of stories about family – those members older than myself and those I have cherished for many years.  I want my grandchildren to know them as I have known them; to learn to love them as I have loved them; and more to be honored that we are all in this family.

So what does the title of my blog have anything to do with family??!!!   Lots of smiles can happen but the actuality of this title is that it is a gift that most of the women of the family have that the male relatives do not.  It began for me from the moment I felt life in my body.  The little one inside me gave me a special ‘gift’ of smell.  I could walk into any room, and state ‘what is that smell?!!!!’  It passed down to my daughter when she was first pregnant and walked into the room with the same question.  People after awhile just questioned our sanity and wondered what was wrong with them.  So that is something my grandchildren need to learn that they may have this’gifts’ that others do not have and I wanted them to know about it!

That week was a joy to me – we talked, shared thoughts, looked at family albums and then they also shared part of their day with their grandfather.  Because I have lived as long as I have – there are many relatives I know and can share their stories.  My youngest grandson was upset that when I told him that his grandfather as young man he was denied service at a lunch counter because of the color of his skin.  This led to a discussion about bigotry in our world from the time I was young until now.  I love learning from my grandchildren and I hope they enjoy learning from me and from their aunts and uncle.

One of the most fun moments was when I had Chirison put on my wedding dress and we took a picture of her.  She really looked lovely and of course we sent the picture to her daddy, my son, and probably gave him a heart-attack realizing his daughter is growing up so quickly.

So who knows what gifts my granddaughters possess as well as my grandsons.  In any event they are family and this family is blessed because they are  a part of it.

So I’ve been walking around lately asking ‘what is that smell?’  The answer – moldy carpet because the apartment complex had a leak.  The fact is – this time I’m not the only one who is asking ‘what is that smell?’  The family insanity gift of smell has become real to others!!!!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “What Is That Smell?!?!?

Leave a comment