A "stroke" of luck · Bridging Gap from Loss to Living · Faith · Humor · Inspiration · Now What? Facing Breast Cancer · Peace · So, you want to be a mom · Uncategorized

My Cancer Has Cooties!!!!

 

My most recent doctor visit was probably one of the most positive visits I have had for quite some time.   My appointments are good – informative and hopeful but this particular appointment confirmed I’m not crazy!!

I have had some really bad days of late and I’m so frustrated about that.  A few weeks back I had a couple of wonderful days and it felt like a miracle.  Lately I’ve been wondering which body I’m existing within.

As the nurse settled me in with my blood pressure, temp., and weight stats she asked me how I was feeling that day and I told her not well at all.  So she said, may I pray an extra prayer for you then?  She said she often believes an extra prayer never hurts!  I love such an attitude and I thanked her.  I continued by telling her of my frustration of drinking the quarts of water I’m suppose to drink.  She told me that her mother has cancer – same as mine and that she said one of the most difficult procedures is drinking so much water.  I told her to please say thank you to her mom.  My kids get on me that I’m not drinking enough and it frustrates me.  She too gets on her mom about the water intake so at least I have a mutual companion!!!

What many do not understand when fighting cancer one also is fighting other aspects the body faces. Along with having cancer hit me twice, I also have had a stroke which continues to be apart of my life and then of course I’m 71. Normally being 71 is a wonderful age but for me – not so much.

So the doctor sat down and simply told me the truth.  I will never be like I was years ago when we first started treating the cancer.  I will have good days but I also will have bad days.  Because of this I need to be kind to myself, be patient in my acceptance of that bad days and enjoy that good days.

Then he told me that my cancer has cooties!!!   Well, sure why not.  When I was first told I had cancer I was told the tumor had an attitude.  Now it decided to spread cooties in my body.  Lovely.

Needless to say my youngest grandson is excited and creeped out as well that his Naanaa had cancer with cooties.  He’s visiting here in Dayton with his sister and I’m sure I will be getting some questions at times.  New research will be sought on cancer and cooties and a woman 72 fighting all of it……

The reality is – life has good days and bad days – cancer, stroke or cooties – it is what it is!

3 thoughts on “My Cancer Has Cooties!!!!

  1. Sue – so sorry your cancer’s cooties are causing a ruckus. You have my prayers, especially that the good stuff on the good days will outweigh the bad stuff. 🙏✨🤗✨💜✨🙏

    Like

  2. Rest In Peace. One of the sweetest souls on this earth. You have a special place in heaven. I love you- dear Aunt Susie. I will miss you terribly.

    Like

Leave a comment